House spirit is our way of encouraging positive engagement in community life.

New students are placed into one of the three House groups. Siblings will be in the same house as each other, and students remain in the same house throughout their schooling at Samaritan College.

During the school year, students participate in their House for the college Sports Day as well as a range of other activities such as lunch time sports competitions, year level competitions, socials fundraising and community outreach events.

The Glory of Guidera Cup was introduced to acknowledge the House with the most points for participation or other non-sporting achievements throughout the year.

The Cup is so named to honour the generous spirit of Br Pat Guidera, Principal of Saint John’s from 1974 – 1979, a tireless teacher, counsellor and volunteer in working with our community from 1994 – 2002.  "He is not a man who gives lengthy discourses and he positively shuns abstract debates.  What he says is simple and to the point, often based on personal experience.  The lessons he teaches are lessons that we remember."  (Helena Dimitriou … in speaking for Pat when awarded the Barry Wakelin Community Service Award 2002).

There are separate shields for sporting events involving the Houses.

Students at the secondary campus are also in House Groups for social and pastoral activities too.

Students and staff at Samaritan College belong to one of three houses:

Benedict (yellow), MacKillop (blue) or Rice (green)

Benedict is so named as the Rule of Benedict inspired the Good Samaritan Sisters who founded the St Teresa's and Our Lady's Help of Christians schools.

Mary MacKillop is Australia's first Saint and has close links to schools in country SA and especially the Port Pirie Diocese.

Rice is from Edmund Rice who founded the Christian Brothers in Ireland who established Saint John's College in 1963 in Whyalla.

History of our House Teams

House Captains

Saint John's Campus


  • Ethyn Hards
  • Taleya Huish


  • Bree Puddy
  • Kaleb Reeves


  • Connor Lipczyk
  • Nyasha Mativenga